While shopping at the local shopping center I went into the book shop, it is a must stop whenever I’m there. This time I discovered they had a top one hundred list of books as chosen by the general public. I myself love making lists and thought wouldn’t it be great if I could work my way through all one hundred (though personally I don’t think I can read the Bible)? So my quest (which I will document here) to read all one hundred began. This is number fifty-eight and when I read the blurb I knew I had to read it.

Sarah Turnbull is an Australian journalists who one night in Bucharest meets a French man who will change the course of her life forever (very dramatic I know but a true story). On an invite from the man she has known for forty-five minutes she visits him in France as a detour until she falls in love.

This book explores the cultural difference between a down to earth Australian and a culturally elite French man. While reading it was hard not to laugh out a loud, cringe and at the same time feel the sadness of constantly being an outsider. Though despite the cultural ostracism by the end of the book you want to pack up your life and move to France. This book is the stuff of fairy tales. How many of us haven’t dreamed of falling in love in a foreign country? I know I have.

I think this is a book for any romantic at heart or people like me dating others from different cultures. Despite all the differences in opinion and embarrassing moments you know you wouldn’t have things any other way. This book proves that people from different cultures can pull together and make a mostly perfect life for themselves.

