I always think how you choose a book to read make an interesting story in itself. It also gives you some insight in to the reader. Do you choose a book by its cover (a cardinal sin) I have to admit sometime yes. Do you read the back? Most people do and this is the little taste of what is to come. I have just finished reading ‘Love in the Time of Cholera‘ by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. The reason I chose this book was because I was home alone watching Serendipity with John Cusack. He meets a woman and if destiny is supposed to bring them together they will find each other by the woman writing to her details inside the ‘Love in the Time of Cholera’ and sell it to a used book shop. If he finds the book, he finds her. I also heard the book mentioned in High Fidelity another John Cusack move. So it got me wondering.

The book is set on a Caribbean and as the name suggests during the time of cholera. It was an interesting and at the same time I wasn’t sure if I had the reaction to it that the author desired. Fermina Daza is young a courted by Florentino Ariza a thin, intense and ghostly presence of a man. They exchange frequent and passionate love letters until her father finds out. A 424 page story cut short she doesn’t think it is love and breaks off there engagement. He dedicates his whole life to become worthy of her and waiting for her husband to die. Eventually her husband dies and on the night of his death Florentino repeats to Fermina that he still loves her and always has. She writes him a hateful letter to which he replies and a friendship and eventually a romance forms. Ending with them forever sailing on a river boat together (by the way they are around 70ish by now).

I guess the reaction the author wanted is one of romance and that love never dies. If you love someone no matter the time and obstacles you can eventually be together. Unfortunately while I was reading the book I like Fermina Daza’s husband Dr Juvenal Urbino more than I liked the main romantic lead character. Am I unromantic? I believed that if you love someone and have to pursue them for “fifty-one years, nine months and four days”. I don’t think they share the same passion. Sure her husband had flaws but don’t we all?

On the whole I liked the book but I wasn’t as satisfied as I think I was supposed to be. It is hard to really enjoy a book when you are rooting for the other guy not the one you are meant to and you loose out. Maybe love does conquer all but for me not this book.

