I have always wanted to be one of those people that reads and has a comprehensive knowledge of the classic. So when I looked at the top one hundred list and saw ‘Jane Eyre’ at number seventy-two I felt maybe I could kill two birds with one stone (though not literally).

Although a classic I found this book really easy to read, sometimes when reading older literature you feel overwhelmed and the text really drags on. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next.

This book is primarily a romance but with a difference. Jane Eyre is an orphan that grew up in the unhappy house of her Aunt Reed. She is then given the opportunity to escape through education. The escape to school is not what she expected (from the frying pan into the fire comes to mind). Her life was cruel and humiliating until she took the job as governess to Adele the young ‘charge’ of Mr. Rochester. Little did she know love was to follow her to Thornfield Hall.

This is the story of unremarkable, unhollywood love between two ordinary and unremarkable people. Although it is romantic it doesn’t provide unreal expectations, it is a realistic romance. Not everyone that falls in love is beautiful and not everyone falls for someone handsome. It made me feel that there is someone for everyone.

Although I would describe this book as a romance there are some mysterious elements, such as the character of Grace Poole: Who is she, why is she there and what is she hiding (ah, you must read it to know the answers)?

This book gave me that warm fuzzy feeling and thinking about it now I feel it. I also left feeling empowered as a female (no wonder it was an instant hit in 1847):

‘I am no bird and no net ensnares me. I am a free human being with an independent will’

I recommend this book to any girl who wants a heart warming and enduring story to curl up in bed with (books never disappoint in bed :-)).

