This is the only book my sister has ever recommended to me and she hasn’t even finished reading it. My sister isn’t a big reader so for her to tell me about a book I thought I should read it.

When I began the book I read the introduction and the foreword by Charlotte Bronte. They all died so young and didn’t ever get to understand the full impact their writings had on English literature. I hope they realize the contribution and understand the joy people feel when they read their books (Emily died shortly after receiving a bad book review).

I had a preconceived notion of how the story would play out before I began and I was completely wrong. It is said to be a romance story for the ages and yes it had some romance but it wasn’t the common every day garden variety. The romance centers on Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff (you know out on the moors “Oh Heathcliff, Heathcliff… sigh). Catherine instead of realising her love for Heathcliff marries Edgar Linton and what follows is Heathcliff’s constant pursuit of Catherine and bringing misery to Linton and his downfall.

I really enjoyed this book, it took me a little bit to get used to the old English phrasing and I had trouble understanding the Yorkshire characters ramblings. In the end I was satisfied for the story and the achievement of reading another classic (and crossing no. 46 of my list).

The hardest thing about this story is trying to understand the workings of Heathcliff; he is a man angry at the world, foul tempered and foul mouthed. All though he is a brute you can’t help feeling like one of those strange women that think “maybe I can change him”. Unfortunately, I think he is beyond redemption but maybe his hate is driven by an unrequited love.

