It has been a little while between posts and I’m very sorry. The reason it has taken me awhile is that I have been doing my final exams. I also have to announce that I passed all my exams and I am now the proud owner of a Bachelor of Science. Anyway, enough about that lets get back to the books.

I decided to read ‘Angels and Demons’ after my Aunty gave it to me for a Christmas present. While everyone was caught up in the ‘ Da Vinci Code’ craze I was lucky enough to read the first book in the Robert Langdon series.

From the first moment I picked up this book I could not stop reading it. It begins with a murder and ends in a whirlwind of no stop action.

The book traces the age-old debate between evolution, creationism, the role of science and the opposing nature of religion. An argument everyone has an opinion on and one people rarely agree on.

The characters were captivating and each has there own agenda and chequered past. The character of Robert Langdon is best described as “Harrison Ford in tweed”, I have no idea who said that but it sums him up nicely. He has brains with the balls to back it up.

One thing I love about the Dan Brown books is that he manages to weave facts with fiction to create a story that you find plausible and you believe it for the truth. Many times reading the book, I wonder whether or not the Illuminati were real and if so where I can meet them. Although they are thugs in the book I was still intrigued by their secret society.

The only thing I found a little disappointing about this book and the series is that after I had read it and the ‘Da Vinci Code’ I found the plots to be very similar. Though they say stick with what you know. I hope that the supposed sequel to the ‘Da Vinci Code’ is slightly different.

