My friend and I were both one-day discussing the BBC version of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ (you will see it was rated 9.4/10). We had both grown up in different areas, watched it at different times but both agreed that it was the best version we had ever seen. After watching it I refuse to watch any other adaptation, for me Colin Firth is the perfect Mr Darcy and Jennifer Ehle (with her fine eyes) plays a wonderful Eliza.

I decided to read the book after reminiscing about how I loved the series. I’m glad I did. I think it is a book every girl/woman should read. It may take some readers a while to get through but it will be worth it in the end.

There are so many stories and genres rolled into one book. It is a comedy, a romance, and a drama all during the Georgian era, where people married for money and status and love was something you only read or dreamt about. The characters in the book are also believable and seem some how known to you. Everybody knows some one like Mr Collins (the slimey, embarrassing relative) or Elizabeth (the independent, free spirit) or Mr Darcy (the misunderstood, quite guy) and the mother (don’t get me started on her “he is worth 5000 pounds”).

I love the idea of two characters having such chemistry and at the same time loathing the sight of each other. It is the romance story that most women are searching for. Although it is a romance, it gives women an independent fighting spirit (I have to say far cry from some Mills and Boone stories). It matches, men’s words, with women’s wit, combining to create a classic tale.

This is a story that is still considered funny and romantic today, and will continue to be for years to come.

