My first year at uni my new friend lent me this book to read. She said it was the only book she has read that has made her cry out loud (and as you can probably tell by this blog, I like these kind of books). So I curled up in my chair in my tiny dorm room and read for what felt like a week straight (not a long book but it is an emotional journey) until I emerged red eyed and grateful.

At a few months of age Damon Courtney is diagnosed with haemophilia a disease that prevents his blood from clotting. After living with this illness for many years through routine blood transfusions, it is during one of these routine transfusions that Damon contracted AIDS. He struggled with both these illnesses until April Fool’s Day 1991 when at the age of 24 he passed away.

This is Damon’s story told through the eyes of his father and with a chapter at the end by the woman who loved him through all. It is hard not to become attached to this book. Damon was a young man in his twenties that wanted to live life recklessly (drive his Fiat at warp speed) and live it to its fullest but was held back.

I can not imagine what it must be like for a parent to lose a child, and I can’t imagine the pain a father must feel writing about it. Even though it must have been difficult at the same time I hope it bought back the memories of his son. This is an incredibly sad book though you some how still feel better for reading it. You feel the closeness of this family and the infectious personality of Damon. After reading this book you want to go out and make the most of your life, cherish every moment and at the same time stop and smell the roses.

I recommend this book to everyone, it is sad but in a tragically beautiful way and I don’t think you will be disappointed. Enjoy it and think of others like Damon.

