Having read everything that I packed I was looking for something new to sink me teeth into. It just so happened as I was checking the mail I looked in the rubbish/ junk mail box and there was a book. The book was battered and missing the back cover but desperate times called for desperate measures. I looked around to make sure no one was watching and I stole the book away to my bedroom.

The Class follows the lives of five young men who will make up part of the Harvard graduating class of ’58. It follows there trials and triumphs with in the walls of Harvard and after graduation as they stretch their wings. These five men have nothing in common except for the strong bond of Harvard University. Danny Rossi is a musical prodigy, destined for bright lights and glory. Ted Lambros is an outsider just allowed to attend the college but to poor to live in the dorms. Jason Gilbert is the star of Harvard, the big man on campus, the one flaw in his perfection is his Jewish ancestry. George Keller is a Hungarian refugee who wants more than anything to become an American. Last is Andrew Eliot, the newest Eliot to be gracing the halls of Harvard. Andrew’s diary entries are scattered throughout the story and provide insight into a young man trying to do his family proud but at the same time not measuring up.

I enjoyed this story much more than I thought I would. It was interesting to read about the lives of university students 50 years ago. They still had the same fears and insecurities that many young people face today. The 50’s and 60’s also saw the uni students flex their political might. Throughout this book there are also references to the massive changes in society that were taking place. Young people were having sexual relations before marriage, the year of general service was still expected and the unrest in Vietnam was beginning to surface.

This book entertained me. However, it isn’t one that I would recommend to everyone. It’s the book that if there isn’t anything more exciting in your cupboard to read then pick it up and you won’t be disappointed, but don’t expect a Nobel prize winning piece of literature. This book is no War and Peace, it is more like slight arguments and warm hugs.

