It was a long time ago that I read this book but I thought now would be a good time to talk about it. Later this year The Lovely Bones is being released as movie and although this is a great book to read I am a little apprehensive as to how it will go in cinematic form.

As soon as I picked up this book I knew it was going to be a tear-jerker. Susie Salmon was a young teenage girl with her whole life ahead of her, that was before she was raped and murdered. While coming to terms with her own death she also has to struggle watching her parents and sibling try and deal with it in their own way.

Through this story we see the pain from the points of view of both the victim and her family left behind. We also witness Susie’s frustration knowing who is responsible and not being able to let anyone know. There are so many emotions in this book but each is dealt with in a flowing, coherent way.

Death in any story is a tough subject, to write about or to read about but dealing with it in a first person narrative  sense makes a difficult subject so much harder. Also the fact that the murder victim is also a child is crossing into territories most writers would steer clear of.

This is a very hard book to write about. I want to describe it better but I can’t seem to find the words, I also don’t want to give anything away. I think if you are planning on seeing the movie try and read the book first. I generally think the book is better, plus this movie is going to be a real crier so maybe prepare yourself with the book first or take lots of tissues.

